Home > Real World, Spotlight! > Spotlight! Kathryn Schultz, FCLC ’12

Spotlight! Kathryn Schultz, FCLC ’12

With a such a small campus as FCLC, it doesn’t come as a surprise that within the first month of a semester you recognize pretty much everyone who walks the halls. But the number of these people that we actually know is far less. That’s why here at The Observatory we’ve taken it upon ourselves to introduce you to some of these familiar faces with not-so-familiar life stories.

Kathryn Schultz, FCLC '12, is the queen of commuting.

“The Mighty Commuter”

While people who reside in McMahon Hall can roll out of bed at 8:45 for a 9 am class, Kathryn Schultz, FCLC ’12, a math major commuting by NJ Transit from  Chatham, New Jersey needs to schedule in an hour and twenty minutes of extra time in the morning to assure she makes it to the classroom.  Even though there are a large number of commuters from the tri-state area heading to campus each day,  Kathryn proclaims that professors need to be more aware of commuters and their various needs.

A Day in the Life. I wake up around 6 every morning for my 11:30 Spanish class. I need to schedule in time to get ready and get all my books together, plus drive to the Chatham train station to catch the train. My commute is about an hour and a half total from the time I leave my house, to the time I arrive at Fordham.  If I am two minutes late and miss the 9:27 train, I have to wait approximately a half an hour for the next train to come, throwing my entire day off. Even if I am running on time, once I get to Penn Station, I never know if the A train is going to be late. It all depends on fate.

Connected within the Fordham Community? I feel somewhat less connected with the Fordham community, because I am not on campus as much as the residents. However, I take advantage of my time on campus, by joining clubs such as CSA – a club that meets every Thursday at 11:30 in Room 510, solely dedicated to bring commuter students together. I like the perspective that CSA gives to Fordham. It makes you realize how many commuters there are, and that they have the same struggles and stresses as you.

Ride and Work. Because I am a math major, I find it hard to do most of my math homework on the train, because I have to take out my notebook, my textbook and my calculator, which makes it difficult. But I am tired once she I get home, so I try to incorporate my assignments with my commute.

Tips for the traveller: Readings and studying Spanish vocab words are the easiest, because it doesn’t require me to take out half of my school bag in front of other passengers. Even though commuting has had no direct affect on my grades, I am thinking about dorming in McMahon hall for the fall 2010 semester.

Commuting Horror Story? Last semester I had a big Spanish test first thing in the morning and my train got delayed. I emailed my professor to tell her that I would not be able to make it to class and she still marked me absent and wouldn’t allow me to take the test. Professors should be more sympathetic towards commuters and their various circumstances.

-Cristina Romano

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

