Home > Real World, Spotlight! > Spotlight! Kiki Adami, FCLC ’12

Spotlight! Kiki Adami, FCLC ’12

With a such a small campus as FCLC, it doesn’t come as a surprise that within the first month of a semester you recognize pretty much everyone who walks the halls. But the number of these people that we actually know is far less. That’s why here at The Observatory, we have taken it upon ourselves to introduce you to some of these familiar faces with not-so-familiar life stories.

Kiki Adami, FCLC '12, dubs herself a quadruple threat.

“Arias and Fuetes are Just Practice- Broadway is the Goal”

Kiki Adami (“it’s like Adam with an i”) may have grown up in Bucks County, PA (bordering Philadelphia), but that was never enough city for her. With sights firmly fixed on the Broadway lights, Kiki, 21, made her way to New York City to study Theatre at Fordham University.

Broadway, Baby: It’s not about being a star – I want to do my art and make money to live comfortably. Being a star honestly isn’t number one on my list of priorities; however, working to my potential is, and I have the potential to be successful. If stardom comes along with that, so be it.

Why I Do What I Do: It wasn’t until Junior year of High School that I realistically pursued performance as my life’s path. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t good at athletics, nor did I excel academically, but in the business they say you need to be good at four things: singing, acting, dancing and waitressing. I had the waitressing part down, and I had potential for the other three, so I ran with that.

Triple Threat: In terms of strength, I would rank myself first as a singer, then dancer, and finally an actor. I’m good-looking, too, so perhaps I’m a quadruple threat. Not that I want people to think I’m narcissistic.

Masochistic: For the near future, I aim to perfect my dance technique. Acting is, of course, something I aim to work on as well, but my priority is dancing because I can fake my way through a scene, but what I’d really love is to be able to do 32 Fuetes, that’s not something you’re born with. Life experiences build an actor, but hard work, sweat and a masochistic lifestyle is what makes a dancer. I relate to that, because I can’t even go out for a night of leisure without constantly thinking that I could be learning an Aria, exercising, or researching auditions. Then again, when I work myself too hard, I find myself feeling like life is passing me by. I suppose what I really need to learn is how to be great (not good), but still maintain healthy relationships with people.

Idols: Tony Conte Pugliese, a tenor from Philadelphia, is my absolute idol. He was told his whole life he would never become a professional opera singer, so he gave up everything, lived on no income, and for ten years taught himself to sing and experimented with every technique you can think of. He knows what all vocal teachers know, but all vocal teachers don’t know what he knows.

-Julia Krivonos

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

