Home > Lifestyle > Carbon Footprint: Bottled Issues

Carbon Footprint: Bottled Issues

At the beginning of my Arts & Global Sustainability class, I offered to do an essay on Fisheries. I was slightly familiar about the depletion of sea life due to pollution, and as an avid scuba diver, I figured it would be interesting to me.  Plus I enjoy eating seafood.

A couple of weeks after writing the essay I had the opportunity to watch a film called Tapped, about the bottled water industry, and more about water in particular, and I came away surprised about the amount of pollution and destruction plastic beverage containers produce.

It is quite shocking to see and hear about how much damage a beverage container, that we all probably purchase multiple times a week, can cause.  With that in mind, I decided to do a bit more research on the topic of plastic in the oceans, and while there are many videos on the Internet showing the extent of the damage, what got me was a statistic I heard:

“Every 5 minutes in the US, 2 million plastic beverage bottles are used.”

It was at that precise point that I decided: “I can not be a part of the problem”.

Since then, if I wanted to take a water bottle with me anywhere, then it would have to be water that I bottled in a reusable aluminum container.  I am also doing my best to inform and educate people on the issue.  Hopefully, one by one, we can make a difference.

If you would like to learn more about the plastic beverage issue I would recommend checking out these two sites.

1) 5Gyres

2) Captain Charles Moore, TED Conference, Feb. 2009.

-Peter O. Youssef, MBA Student

Categories: Lifestyle Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

