Home > Campus, Events, Real World, Spotlight! > Spotlight! Maureen Sweet, FCLC ’12

Spotlight! Maureen Sweet, FCLC ’12

By Piyali Syam

With FCLC’s 2nd Annual Relay for Life event fast approaching on April 17, 2010,
you’ve probably been approached to start or join a Relay Team. And why not? It’s
a great way to become involved in the Fordham community and raise money for a
good cause at the same time. And cancer hits closer to home than you think. To
illuminate cancer’s personal impact on the Fordham community, I interviewed
FCLC’s top 3 fundraisers, first up: Maureen Sweet, with $795.50.





Maureen Sweet
Relay for Life Committee- Team Recruitment Co-Chair
Year: Sophomore
Homestate: Warren, Ohio
Major: Spanish Language and Literature
Minors: Business and Theology

Relay has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Relay For Life
in Warren, OH, is currently in its 17th or 18th year, so I've always known about
it. It's a huge part of my community's culture; I can't go to my dermatologist
or my general physician without seeing items that are being raffled off and
candy that is being sold to support Relay. So it was just always in my life.
The true mission of Relay For Life really hit home when my Uncle Al passed away
from leukemia in February 2005. After that, my family formed a Relay For Life
team, and since 2006, the Sweet Family & Friends Relay For Life team has
fundraised for and participated in Relay For Life of Warren, OH, every year.
This year we'll be Relaying in memory of five family members that we've lost to
cancer: Albert Sweet, Marilyn Sweet, Arthur K. Harris III, James Hlad, and
Warren Belanger.

So Relay For Life and the American Cancer Society are and always will be very
important to me. I was really excited last year when Brian and Peter started
Relay at FCLC, and I feel truly honored to have been able to work on the
committee for the event both years.

When I'm not Relaying, I try to keep myself busy as a sophomore majoring in
Spanish Language & Literature and double minoring in Business and Theology. I'm
also on the GO! Board and in USG, and I can always find time to support my
native Northeast-Ohio sports teams (yes, Knicks fans, LeBron is staying in
Cleveland).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

