Home > Campus, Events, Real World, Spotlight! > Spotlight! Katie Leonard, FCLC ’12

Spotlight! Katie Leonard, FCLC ’12

By Piyali Syam

With FCLC’s 2nd Annual Relay for Life event fast approaching on April 17, 2010,
you’ve probably been approached to start or join a Relay Team. And why not? It’s
a great way to become involved in the Fordham community and raise money for a
good cause at the same time. And cancer hits closer to home than you think. To
illuminate cancer’s personal impact on the Fordham community, I interviewed
FCLC’s top 3 fundraisers, next up: Katie Leonard $520.50.


Katie Leonard
Relay for Life Committee Member- Fundraising
Year: Sophomore

Homestate: New Jersey
Major: Communications (concentration in TV/Radio),
Minor: Business 

I decided to become involved in Relay for Life because I want to help put an end
to this horrible disease. During my sophomore year of high school, my mother was
diagnosed with colon cancer. She never let the cancer take over her life and
lived everyday for others, despite the pain she was in. She fought it for two
years. She passed away on October 24, 2007 after a difficult battle. I Relay in
remembrance of my mother and for my family, and others alike, in hopes that in
the future, they no longer have to see their loved ones suffer. This is my first
year being involved in Relay and I really love the work that this event and ACS
do to fight cancer.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

