Home > Sports > Athlete of the Week: Doug Hanly

Athlete of the Week: Doug Hanly

Sarah Fernando

Image courtesy of FordhamSports.com

Leading the men’s soccer team to a 3-1 victory over Hofstra on Sept.19, Doug Hanly, FCRH’13, who is number 30 on the Fordham University Men’s Soccer team, was named Atlantic 10 Soccer Rookie of the Week. In the first six games of the season, Hanly has scored three goals and six points for Fordham.

Despite being a sophomore this year, Hanly is still considered a rookie because he didn’t play last season.  “I was extremely surprised to being announced rookie of the week for two reasons. Last season I did not play a minute and was looking to just get an appearance this season. Secondly, I did not realize I still qualified as a rookie, but thanks to seeing no time last year, I am,” Hanly, said.

For Hanly this award was the result of hard work and practice over the summer. “I worked very hard over the summer in order to best position myself to get some playing time,” he said.

Enjoying his time at Fordham University, Hanly said he is looking forward to seeing how much the Fordham’s men soccer team will improve. “I really like Fordham so far because it challenges me in both academics and athletics,” he said.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

