Home > Health and Fitness, Lifestyle > You’re Not Alone: It’s Burnout Season.

You’re Not Alone: It’s Burnout Season.

Sadia Noor

The term burnout generally brings to mind images of a late night illegal drag race where super awesome cars screech down the road with smoke streaming from their wheels. Unfortunately, the kind of burnout us regular folk experience usually doesn’t involve climbing out of a race car and pulling off a helmet to reveal perfectly kept hair. No, our burnout is much, much uglier.

Right now, I’m taking 5 classes, working two jobs, serving as an editor for Kosmos, freelancing in graphic design, and working towards graduating Fordham a year early. When I go home, I get to take care of my family and help my dad manage his startup business (and maybe even do my homework). At the beginning of this semester, I thought I could handle all the work. I’m sure that there are people that could do all this while simultaneously climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro and curing world hunger. Sad to say, I’m not one of those people. I am experiencing burnout.

It seems like nowadays, the word ‘no’ is equivalent to a death sentence. College students simply have to accept every offer, take every opportunity, apply for every vacant position, interview for the coolest internships. This isn’t overachieving anymore, this is the norm – to get a leg up in the world, we need to be working 24/7.

But somewhere along the line, college lost the meaning that it used to. What happened to doing things just for the experience? What happened to taking quirky classes so you can spout trivia on command? What happened to the love?! (I kid, I kid.)

All I’m saying is that college burnout is way too common, and most of us don’t even realize when we’ve taken on too much work and stopped enjoying ourselves. My advice is simple, and probably something we’ve all heard twenty times over – just chill out. Pick something you love doing, something that can bring you zen in any situation, and then go chase after that internship position. You’ll be a lot happier and fulfilled as a result, and you won’t have to complain to your friends about how tired you are every day (which is actually a lot more annoying than you think).

And maybe, just maybe, the art of perfect hair will follow.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

