Home > Campus, Seniors > Why My Teachers Were Wrong

Why My Teachers Were Wrong

Stefanie Wheeler, online editor

Growing up, I remember my teachers telling me, “If you go to college, you will get a good job,” as if it was a guarantee. As if every single college student receives a job offer along with his or her diploma on graduation day. As if the number of college graduates in this world is exactly the same as the number of jobs available. Well, my teachers seem to have forgotten to mention the possibility of unemployment, recession, ramen noodles, stress, and borrowing mom and dad’s money–leading me to believe that my life would be filled with a secure job and a stress-free life.
Well, my teachers were so wrong.  The Labor Department reported that new claims for unemployment aid increased by 26,000 this week to make a whopping total of 436,000. This is an extremely unsettling number regardless of the fact that there were “only” 410,000 unemployment claims a few weeks ago. This makes me slightly bitter toward everyone in my life who has sugar coated “the real world.”  The real world is not the way I thought it would be.  I will most likely not be getting a hefty paycheck every two weeks–or even a paycheck at all.  I will not be eating lavishly at chic restaurants as if I was Carrie Bradshaw. I will certainly not be taking Carribean vacations every couple of months.  And the Saks Fifth Avenue sales girls will not know me by name.
Okay, so maybe my version of the real world sounds like something right from television, but that’s the fantasy world I’ve created in my head since I discovered my love for expensive taste at the ripe age of 12 and had the ever so encouraging and misleading teachers tell me that i could “do anything I wanted in life.”  Being I’m a fear ridden senior, I’d be willing to downplay my whimsical fantasy world with a decent paycheck, delis and diners, day trips to the beach, and Macy’s, but in the back of my head I’m still praying that a job offer magically appears with my diploma on May 21st.
Categories: Campus, Seniors
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

