Home > Entertainment, Lifestyle > How Not to Get Hustled: The Psychic Edition

How Not to Get Hustled: The Psychic Edition

Malaya V. Saldana

NYC is a city of students, artists, dreamers; and in this case a city of hustlers and those who get hustled. The city is not what it was when I was a child, in terms of crime. Times Square today is Disney Land compared to the red-district it was when I was in a kid; yet, even the most street smart New Yorker can get hustled. I know I have been–several times.

Here’s how to tell if you’re being hustled by a psychic, I only know from several interesting personal anecdotes. The most interesting one has to do with: Fordham, eggs, Romania, exorcism, a baby black snake, $40, hand-holding and a lack of inhibition on my part.

Psychics seem to have an affinity for me. They pick me out of a bustling crowd, stop me and start rewinding, fast-forwarding through what they envision about my life. Usually it’s that I have “a benevolent aura/a good soul/an ability to help the world/ you are a psychic too/a history of woe” and an endless string of obscurity.

Signs you’re being hustled:

  1. You are approached. People don’t go out of their way for anything for free. There’s an ulterior motive. Trust me.
  2. They say very vague things about your life that could be true about anybody. You are kind, you feel unappreciated, you are in conflict with someone, etc. It may seem appealing at first and intriguing, but think, “Can this be applied to the majority of humanity?”
  3. They stare into your eyes, and hold your hands. Trying to make a personal connection.
  4. Sayings like, “I never usually stop people/ you called out to me/ I want to do this for you not me.” Trying to make you feel special, the chosen one.
  5. Most importantly this is the usual bait & switch tactic to guarantee you’ll pay for a reading or spiritual advice.
    1. They start out with observations: aura, personality type.
    2. Move on to great things about you and your future (things you want to hear compliments) Trying to gain your favor.
    3. A fatal, detrimental upcoming event in the far or near future that they are ‘sorry’ to tell you about. Instilling of fear.
    4. Say that they want to help save you from this fate and it is their spiritual mission to save you from it. And that’ll cost you.
  1. J. Paniila
    January 26, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    niceee

  2. Faith
    January 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    “the chosen one” / “instilling of fear” i kind of actually want a psychic encounter just so i can face this ridiculousness, it sounds awesome…and then im gonna run away before they try and hustle me.

  3. Bolivar Aquino
    January 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I love this!!!!

  4. Sharon
    January 26, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Yea. The funniest thing is that can probably be applied to men too. lols
    ❤ you crazy thing.

  5. Bolivar Aquino
    January 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    The experiences that a person can
    Bump heads with in New York are endless,and the possiblities and scenarios are all but to many to mention, But this is definitely one of the most unique ways to be tricked! Thank you for the pre-warning., lol
    Gotta love this city,,,,,

  6. Jessica V.
    January 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Oops, there’s a slight typo. on the beginning lines… 3rd sentence,
    “today is Disney Land compared to the red-district it was when I was in a kid” —
    I’m pretty sure it was supposed to say, “when I was a kid” not in a kid, lol 🙂
    i should have been the Editor,ha,ha,ha….Love it tho, very interesting take on psychics.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

